Our Faculty Members Presented TÜBA Awards by the President of Turkey


"TÜBA-TÜBİTAK Science Awards" ceremony was held at the Beştepe People's Convention and Culture Center on 30 December 2019 and attended by President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan and Minister of Industry and Technology Mustafa Varank.  

Speaking at the ceremony, Prof. Dr. Hasan Mandal, President of the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TÜBİTAK), said: "We are going to continue working strenuously in the coming days to realize our country’s objectives for 2023 and after as a pioneering institution in Turkey’s national technology initiative and technology-centered transformation with groundbreaking scientific progress.”

Prof. Dr. Muzaffer Şeker, President of the Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA), noted that the youth is encouraged to conduct scientific studies thanks to the increasing funds for scientific research and said: "Raising our country’s welfare level and realizing our objectives for the years 2053 and 2071 devised under the leadership of higher authorities as part of the vision for the hundredth anniversary of our Republic can only be possible through the efforts endeavors of the qualified workforce and young scientists we will train for the future."

In his opening remarks, President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan congratulated the scientists who are entitled to the TÜBİTAK and TÜBA awards and said: “With such achievements, Turkey is taking firm steps towards its 2023 objectives. And these efforts will provide a basis for the 2053 and 2071 vision that we will be entrusting to younger generations.” He then commented on the awards as follows: “The awards we will be handing to our scientists here today is a recognition of their efforts. We are now taking the opportunity to commemorate Prof. Dr. Fuat Sezgin, our esteemed scholarship through an award created in his honor. This year, 57 of our scientists are being granted awards. Two scientists from the USA and Canada have won the “TÜBA International Academy Prizes”. And a total of five awards will be granted this year in honor of late Fuat Sezgin. All rewarded scholars have produced remarkable studies.”

President Erdoğan also commented on hot topics such as locally produced automobile and the opening of the Informatics Valley in his speech and announced the good news for scientific community that “the contributions to be paid to the EU by Turkey in 2020 amounting to about 80 million Euros will be used for our researchers."

Following the opening remarks, President Erdoğan presented the scientists their awards along with Minister of Industry and Technology Mustafa Varank, President of TÜBİTAK Prof. Dr. Hasan Mandal, and President of TÜBA Prof. Dr. Muzaffer Şeker.


TÜBİTAK 2019 Science Awards were granted to Prof. Dr. Ahmet Gül in basic sciences, to Prof. Dr. Erdal Arıkan in engineering, to Prof. Dr. Kazim Şahin in health sciences, and to Prof. Dr. Syeda Arzu Wasti in social sciences.

The Encouragement Awards went to Assoc. Prof. Uğur Bozkaya in basic sciences, to Asst. Prof. Emine Ülkü Sarıtaş Çukur and Assoc. Prof. Alper Uzun in engineering sciences, to Assoc. Prof. Uğur Canpolat, Prof. Dr. Güliz Nigar Güncü and Assoc Prof. Nurhan Özlü Sıcakkan in health sciences, to Prof. Dr. Yavuz Akbulut, Assoc. Prof. Şener Aktürk, Assoc. Prof. Gül Günaydın, Assoc. Prof. Ferdane Nükhet Harmancıoğlu Gür and Assoc. Prof. Ayşenur Büyükgöze Kavas in social sciences.

The one-time TÜBİTAK Prof. Dr. Fuat Sezgin History of Science Award for 2019 was received by Prof. Dr. Esin Kahya, retired faculty member of Ankara University.

TÜBA Awards

TÜBA International Academy Prizes were received this year by McGill University Faculty Member Prof. Dr. Faiz Jamil Ragep in the social and humanities category and Duke University Faculty Member Prof. Dr. Adrian Bejan in the category of science and engineering sciences.

TÜBA Fuat Sezgin Special Individual Award was presented to Prof. Dr. İhsan Fazlıoğlu, faculty member and Dean of our Faculty of Arts and Humanities, for his original significant contributions to national and international research and education in “History of Science and History of Islamic Science”. TÜBA Fuat Sezgin Outstanding Young Scientist Award was given to Assoc. Prof. Halil Tekiner of Erciyes University and TÜBA Fuat Sezgin Special Service Award was given to Prof. Dr. Atilla Bir of Fatih Sultan Mehmet Foundation University. Türkiye Diyanet Foundation’s Encyclopedia of Islam was awarded with Fuat Sezgin Authored Book Award and İstanbul Cezeri Museum was awarded with TÜBA Fuat Sezgin Special Institutional Award.

TÜBA also presented the “Outstanding Young Scientist Awards" to 28 scientists in natural, engineering, health and social sciences and "Scientific Authored Book Awards" to 6 scientists. In this context, Assoc. Prof. Fatih Durgun of our Faculty of Arts and Humanities was awarded with the TÜBA-GEBİP (Outstanding Young Scientist Award) in “History”.

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to our faculty members who made us proud as a University by receiving these significant awards for their outstanding success personally from our President and wish them increasing and continued success.